Font Size: A A A


ASC Imbert awards

The Association of Security Consultants (ASC) endeavours to encourage growth and the development of ideas for the advancement of security risk management.  In that endeavour, the ASC presents an annual prize – ‘The Imbert Prize’ – named after an ASC patron, Lord Imbert of New Romney CVO QPM JP. The award winners will be made public at the ASC lunch in central London at the RAF Club on Thursday, June 21.



During his active professional career Lord Imbert held lengthy terms of office as Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Service and, latterly, Lord Lieutenant of Greater London.  He remains a prominent and active figure in the security, policing and risk arena – and a member of the editorial board of Professional Security Magazine.     The ASC has pleasure in announcing the finalists for the Imbert Prize 2012.


– The Academic Dissertation Award”.  An award of £1,000 for a selected dissertation submitted by an academic institution.  Cranfield, Leicester, Loughborough and Portsmouth universities are invited to submit a dissertation on behalf of one of their students, which must be relevant to consultancy in security.  The dissertations are judged by an awards panel appointed by the ASC noard. The nominations for this category are:


Cranfield University.  A dissertation by Stewart McCartney – Individual Jihad: Examining Al-Qaeda’s lone actor strategy and security responses.


Leicester University.  A dissertation by Graham Smaul – An examination of the risk management and business continuity management policies and procedures at Dublin Airport, Ireland.


Loughborough University.  A dissertation by Edward Gregory Hirst “Security functions are often guilty of under-selling themselves; is this true?  If so; how can security be promoted effectively?”


Portsmouth University.  A dissertation by John Afolabi Akerele – Nigerian aviation security post Abdulmutallab (the Christmas Bomber).



The Notable Person Award


This award is presented on the basis of the person considered to have made the most notable contribution to the security industry in the preceding year.  The leading security associations are invited to submit a nomination for adjudication by the awards panel. The nominations for this category are:


American Society of Industrial Security (ASIS).  Nominee – Allison Wylde.


British Security Industry Association (BSIA).  Nominee – Bobby Logue.


International Professional Security Association (IPSA).  Nominee – Ms Una Riley.


Security Institute (SyI).  Nominee – Emma Shaw.


The winners of each category will be announced at the ASC Annual Awards Luncheon to be held as in previous years at the Royal Air Force Club, Piccadilly, London, on June 21. Lord Imbert will present the awards.


Related News