Font Size: A A A

Home > News > Training > Wilf Knight award


Wilf Knight award

The Security Institute is accepting entries for the 2012 Wilf Knight Academic Award. The competition is run each year by The Security Institute as a showcase for individual student ability with a financial prize for the student entrant reflecting the academic and progressive standards of the academic institution which sponsors the winning entry and indeed the finalists. 



Winners so far have been – 


2009 – Loughborough University (Danie Adendorff)

2010 – Loughborough University (Angus Darroch-Warren CSyP)

2011 – Cranfield University (Matthew Mackmin) and University of Leicester (Leonie Darbon).


Institutions that have several faculties which cover the various related facets of the security management are encouraged to raise awareness of the Wilf Knight Award in order to produce a larger pool from which to choose the one entry allowed per institution.


To enter


The dissertation or project must originate from coursework and may be a title of the student’s own choice or which may have been given by the teaching establishment.  


An entry must be by a student on a recognised Bachelor or Masters/PgDip Degree course in a specific or general field of security management (this includes related subject areas such as civil emergency planning, crime prevention or criminology, defence, fraud management, risk studies, business continuity – all of which are non-exhaustive examples of the diversity allowed within the award criteria).  


Minimum level of study – first degree with the submission supported by the University or training provider acting as sponsor.  Only one entry for each institution is allowed.  The entry must be part of the course work of the student concerned. 


The work submitted should be a dissertation, assignment or project which shows evidence of particular distinction and/or innovation in relation to the subject area and must make a valuable contribution to the development of security management.  Author students do not need to be members of the institute.  The prize winner will receive £500 and all finalists will receive a certificate of commendation from the Institute. 


The winner will receive his/her award at the 2012 National Security Excellence Awards (as the Institute’s guest at dinner) held on October 17 which this year is again at the Hilton Park Hotel, Park Lane, London.


All nominated entries which must be in soft (electronic) copy and accompanied by an Entry Form should be submitted by the sponsoring university or institution to [email protected] . The closing date for entries is September 5, with final judging completed by October 1 when the finalists selected will be informed, together with their sponsors.


Further details can be found on the institute’s website including entry form, and further information about what the judges are looking for. 


Related News