Font Size: A A A


George van Schalkwyk Trophy

The Security Institute, the UK-based membership body for security people, announced this year’s winner of the George van Schalkwyk Trophy at its annual Remembrance Lecture as immediate past Chairman Mike Bluestone MA CSyP FSyI.

Mike, who was nominated jointly by Institute Directors Andrew Nicholls and Mike Hurst, joined the Security Institute in 1999, and spent several years on the Validation Board before becoming chairman in March 2009. During his four years at the helm he supported the introduction of student membership, the continuing professional development scheme and mentoring, and was instrumental in the launch of the Register of Chartered Security Professionals.

Mike said:“I am deeply honoured and humbled by receiving this very special award. The Security Institute has been part of my DNA since I joined in 1999 as member No 20, and I will continue to do my bit as a Vice President. I had the honour of setting up the Remembrance Lecture during my tenure.” Mike is Director of Consulting at Corps Security, and is the first to acknowledge the support he received from them, and in particular CEO Peter Webster, during his term of office.

Security Institute Chairman Emma Shaw CSyP said: “The George van Schalkwyk Trophy is awarded annually to the Institute member making a significant contribution to security professionalism and Mike has been recognised for all his years of dedication and commitment to not just to the Institute but also to the security industry.”

About the award

George van Schalkwyk was an Institute member who was killed in a helicopter accident in Afghanistan in 2006. The award is made in his memory, and sponsored by Institute Fellow Bruce Braes of Organisational Resilience Pty Ltd, in Western Australia.

Recipients, who are chosen by the membership, receive an etched de vecchi silver dish with a commemorative certificate.


Related News