Font Size: A A A

Home > News > Vertical Markets > Commercial > Economic Crime Awards finalists


Economic Crime Awards finalists

The finalists of the inaugural Tackling Economic Crime Awards (TECAs) have been announced, covering companies, individuals and initiatives.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the TECAs said: “The response we have received to the first-ever TECAs has been outstanding. This is a sector wide initiative designed to create a level playing field. The judges are nominated by the associations and agree to mark to an ethics policy. That is why winning is so valued.”

The 2019 finalists are:

Outstanding Manager or Director

Mike Brown – Direct Line Group
Gemma Pezzack – V12 Retail Finance
Denis Rice – Royal Mail
Simon York – Fraud Investigation Service, HMRC

Outstanding Team

Barclays Financial Intelligence Unit
The DCPCU (Dedicated Card & Payment Crime Unit)
Direct Line Group Counter Fraud Intelligence Team
National Trading Standards Scams Team
North East Regional Asset Recovery Team
Operation Gauntlet – North Yorkshire County Council Trading Standards
Profession Team, Government Counter Fraud Profession, Counter Fraud Centre of Expertise
Veritau Limited
West Yorkshire Financial Exploitation and Abuse Team

Outstanding Consultant

Graydon Business Intelligence Unit Company – Graydon UK
PwC Financial Crime Team
Stuart Underwood – Nationwide Building Society

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

Karen McNeil – Department for Work and Pensions, Counter Fraud, Compliance and Debt
Pop-Up Solicitors/Umbrella Firms – DWF Law LLP
Cyber and Economic Crime Awareness Service – Greater Manchester Police
Julian Watts, Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley
London Digital Security Centre – Police Digital Security Centre

Outstanding Training Initiative

City of London Police Economic Crime Academy
HMRC Criminal Justice Academy
Stephanie Ogunjimi – Lloyds Banking Group
Interview Advisers – Serious Fraud Office
James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office
Veritau Limited

Outstanding New Product

Graydon Detect – Graydon UK
Halo – Insafe International Limited
Bank Signature Forgery Campaign – Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley
The Paybase Risk Suite – Paybase

Outstanding Partnership

Bank Signature Forgery Campaign & All-Party Parliamentary Group on Fair Business Banking
Charity Commission for England & Wales and Fraud Advisory Panel
Hertfordshire Shared Anti-Fraud Service
Insurace Fraud Prevention Partnership – Hastings Direct & BAE Systems
Rehabilitation Validation Project – Aviva & DWF Law LLP
Midlands Fraud Forum
National Fraud Initiative – Synectics Solutions & QBE
Nationwide Branch & Support Team
Statutory Accounting and Corporate Structure Fraud Project Team – Companies House, Cabinet Office & HMRC

Outstanding Investigator

Ryan Andrews – HMRC
Robert Byrne – Serious Fraud Office
Steven Carter – South East Regional Organised Crime Unit
DC Chris Collins – Metropolitan Police Service
Angela Harvey, Chris Hargreaves, Ian Terry, Richard Grant – West Yorkshire Police
DC Tania Harnor – ERSOU – Cybercrime
Ben Hobbs – City of London Police, DCPCU
DC Adele Shallcross – Avon & Somerset Constabulary
Surrey Police and South East Regional Organised Crime Unit (Cyber)
Kelly Williams – Barclays Bank

Outstanding Young Professional

Chelsea Baron – Coop Insurance
Sean Flynn – City of London Police – DCPCU
Dianne Hunt – West Mercia Police
Dave Laramy – Capital One UK
Jessica Lightowler – British Council
Chris Phillips – V12 Retail Finance Limited
Susan Webb – PwC
Joshua Young – Yorkshire Building Society

Outstanding Female Professional

Linda Avan, Senior Intelligence Investigator – DWF Law LLP
Claire Jenkins FCCA, Integrity & Enforcement Unit – Companies House
Sarah Keeling – StoneTurn
Debra Linge – Lloyds Banking Group
Jo Marshall – Nationwide Building Society
DC Tara Owens – Metropolitan Police Service
Helen Seed – HM Revenue & Customs
Narinder Shergill – Serious Fraud Office
Rachael Tiffen – Cifas
Dr Justine Walker – UK Finance

Outstanding Male Professional

Russell Chinn – City of London Police, DCPCU
James Jenkin – Serious Fraud Office

Outstanding Prevention Initiative

The ALP Team, Combating OAP Fraud – The WoS Group
Barclays Approach to Human Trafficking
Tony Blake and Real Consequences Training Video – UK Finance
James Freedman – Love Variety
HMRC Anti Money Laundering Supervision – Estate Agency Businesses Week of Action
Merseyside Police
Tony Murray – City of London Police
Samantha Street, Investment Scams Initiative – Grant Thornton UK LLP
Santander UK
Scotland Fraud Focus – DWF Law LLP.

The Lifetime Achievement winner will be revealed on the day.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony on Monday, December 9, at the Sheraton Grand London Park Lane. Altia-ABM are the headline sponsor and fraud prevention trade body Cifas have sponsored the menu.


Related News