Font Size: A A A

Case Studies

George van Schalkwyk Trophy

The George van Schalkwyk Trophy is awarded annually to a Security Institute member making a significant contribution to security professionalism, and nominations are now open.

The institute is looking for names of people who have made a difference – it could be for inspirational leadership, someone who has introduced something new and beneficial, or hard work and commitment to a cause which has made a difference in the sector.

Entries must be received by March 1, and there will be an online vote by the membership the following week, so that the winner can be announced and trophy presented at the 2015 AGM on March 24 (click here to book). All grades of Institute members are eligible for this award, from any part of the world. The trophy is a personalised de vecchi silver dish, sponsored by Bruce Braes FSyI.

About the award

It’s named after George van Schalkwyk, an Institute member killed in a helicopter accident in Afghanistan in 2006. Previous winners are:

· Mike Bluestone CSyP FSyI

· David Gill CSyP FSyI

· Ken Livingstone FSyI

· Bill Wyllie CSyP FSyI

· John Allan FSyI

· Stewart Kidd CSyP SyI.


Related News